If you leave a white post alone it will soon be a black post.”—G.K. Chesterton 1909

My wife is the most profound person I have ever known. She has taught me more than theology or psychology classes ever could. Last night on our way home from church, Tammy reminded me of the process of how we arrived at our new home. It has now been a year since we moved to the little village of Providence Texas. It has been a year filled with trials, temptations, fear, joy, accomplishment, loneliness, uncertainty, and most of all—growth.

Prior to our move we were completely debt free. I was serving in a position with our home church and Tammy had just graduated from Texas Tech. Things could not have been more perfect. Then, for some unknown reason God said GO! So we did. Without jobs or even a real plan, we moved 350 miles. We had some speculations of what God may have in store for us, but the timing did not seem at all correct. We had very little means of income and I was still in school. But we were confident in one thing; the knowledge that we had made the choice God had desired. Now, one year later, things are much clearer. Tammy reminded me how it is our responsibility to give God the honor and glory of how he directed and prepared our path and supplied all our needs. It turns out; our biggest needs were ones of growth, both spiritually and relationally.

The Christian life is one that needs routine maintenance. If left alone it will soon be a black post. The lessons I have learned have been ones which God knew I needed to learn; ones which, if not learned would lead to destruction.

Psalm 131

God, I’m not trying to rule the roost

I don’t want to be king of the mountain.

I haven’t meddled where I have no business

or fantasized grandiose plans.

I’ve kept my feet on the ground;

I’ve cultivated a quiet heart.

Like a baby content in its mother’s arms,

my soul is a baby content.

Wait, Israel, for God. Wait with hope.

Hope now; hope always!

Charles Spurgeon said about this Psalm, “it is one of the shortest Psalms to read, but one of the longest to learn.”

Life is a series of lessons; it is simply, as the psalmist put it, a process of being weaned like a child from his mother. It is much like our fence post. When we leave it alone and stop checking out the damage weather may have caused or skip a couple years of painting, the post starts to turn black.  Hope now; hope always!

